(AAPM) Board

The American Academy of Pain Medicine is governed by its Board of Directors, which is comprised of members who volunteer their time, energy, and leadership to support AAPM’s mission.

Executive Committee members and Directors-at-Large are elected leaders of the Academy. Voting AAPM members are invited annually to participate in the nomination and voting process to determine who will fill these topmost leadership positions in the Academy.

Board Liaisons are appointed by the Nominating Committee.

Executive Committee | 2020 – 2021

Ajay D. Wasan, MD MSc


Vice Chair for Pain Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
Professor of Anesthesiology & Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
UPMC Pain Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA

Kayode A. Williams, MD MBA


Medical Director Practice Innovations
Vice-Chair for System Integration ACCM
Associate Professor
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Charles E. Argoff MD

President AAPM Foundation,

ex officio

Professor of Neurology
Albany Medical College
Director of the Comprehensive Pain Center
Albany Medical Center
New York

W. Michael Hooten, MD


Department of Anesthesiology, Division of Pain Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, NY

Vitaly Gordin, MD

Vice President

Scientific Affairs

Director for Pain Division
Penn State University
Dept of Anesthesiology
Hershey, PA

Robert W. Hurley, MD PhD

Editor-in-Chief, Pain Medicine

Professor / Executive Director of Pain Shared Services
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
Winston Salem, NC

Farshad M. Ahadian, MD


Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology
Center for Pain Medicine
University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA

Tim J. Lamer, MD

Immediate Past President

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
Directors-at-large | 2020 – 2021

Steven P. Cohen, MD

Chief, Division of Pain Medicine
Director, Blaustein Pain Treatment Center
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Judith Scheman, PhD

Director, Behavioral Medicine
Digestive Disease and Surgery Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Halena M. Gazelka, MD

Medical Director, Department of Public Affairs
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Patrick Tighe, MD MS

Associate Professor
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL

James C. Watson, MD

Professor of Neurology and Anesthesiology
Medical Director, Office of Access Management
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
liaison directors | 2020 – 2021

Eduardo Fraifeld, MD


Past Presidents

Danville, VA

Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH


Pain Medicine Journal

Philadelphia Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA

Robert E. Wailes, MD


AMA House of Delegates

Medical Director
Pacific Pain Medicine Consultants
Encinitas, CA
council of past presidents

Founded in 1983 as the American Academy of Algology, the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) has evolved as the primary organization for physicians practicing the specialty of Pain Medicine in the United States. AAPM is thankful for the dedicated leadership and for all who have served in the organization over the years. The following is a list of past presidents who served on the (AAPM) Board of Directors.

* Denotes “The Late”

Tim Lamer, MD

Daniel B. Carr, MD

Lynn R. Webster, MD

Eduardo Fraifeld, MD

B. Todd Sitzman, MD MPH

*Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD PhD

Albert Ray, MD

J. David Haddox, DDS MD

*Hubert L. Rosomoff, MD DMedSc FAAPM

*E. Richard Blonsky, MD

*Jack J. Pinsky, MD

Joel L. Seres, MD

Jianguo Cheng, MD PhD

Bill H. McCarberg, MD

Martin Grabois, MD

Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH

Frederick W. Burgess, MD PhD

Melvin C. Gitlin, MD

Edward C. Covington, MD

Gerald M. Aronoff, MD

*Richard L. Stieg, MD

Sridhar V. Vasudevan, MD

*Philipp M. Lippe, MD

*Benjamin L. Crue, Jr., MD

Steven P. Stanos, DO

Sean Mackey, MD PhD

Perry G. Fine, MD

Kenneth Follett, MD PhD

Scott Fishman, MD

Marc B. Hahn, DO

Norman J. Marcus, MD

Steven D. Feinberg, MD

Peter R. Wilson, MBBS PhD

Andrew G. Shetter, MD

*Robert G. Addison, MD

Pain Medicine Journal
Access to this page is restricted to members only! Not a mamber? Join Now!

Ask Us Anything. Anytime.

📝 Fill in your details and we’ll get back to you in no time.

American Academy of Pain Medicine