AAPM Board of Directors

The American Academy of Pain Medicine is governed by its board of directors, which is comprised of members who volunteer their time, energy, and leadership to support AAPM's mission.

Executive Committee members are elected officers of the Academy. Voting AAPM members are invited annually to participate in the nomination and voting process to determine who will fill these topmost leadership positions in the Academy.

Directors-at-Large and Board Liaisons are appointed by the Nominating Committee.

2018–19 Executive Committee

Cheng Jianguo


Jianguo Cheng, MD, PhD
Professor & Program Director
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, OH

Lamer Tim


Tim J. Lamer, MD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Bloodworth Donna


Donna M. Bloodworth, MD
Associate Professor
Quentin Mease Community Hospital
Dept of Physical Medicine & Rehab
Houston, TX

Hooten Michael


W. Michael Hooten, MD
Department of Anesthesiology, Division of Pain Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Wasan Ajay

Vice President for Scientific Affairs

Ajay D. Wasan, MD MSc
Vice Chair for Pain Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
Professor of Anesthesiology & Psychiatry
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
UPMC Pain Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA

Stanos Steven

Immediate Past President

Steven P. Stanos, DO
Medical Director, Swedish Pain Services
Medical Director, Occupational Medicine Services
Swedish Medical Center
Seattle, WA

2018–19 Directors-at-Large

Ahadian Farshad

Farshad M. Ahadian, MD
Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology
Medical Director – Center for Pain Medicine
University of California-San Diego
La Jolla, CA

Cohen Steven

Steven P. Cohen, MD
Chief, Division of Pain Medicine
Director, Blaustein Pain Treatment Center
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Gordin Vitaly

Vitaly Gordin, MD
Director for Pain Division
Penn State University
Dept of Anesthesiology
Hershey, PA

Hurley Robert

Robert W. Hurley, MD, PhD
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
Winston Salem, NC

Kent Michael

Michael L. Kent, MD
Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Rockville, MD

Mahajan Gagan

Gagan Mahajan, MD
Associate Professor
University of California Davis
Sacramento, CA

Tighe Patrick

Patrick Tighe, MD, MS
Associate Professor
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL

2018–19 Liaison Directors

Cohen Mitch

ABPM Liaison Director

Mitchell J. Cohen, MD
Jefferson Medical College
Philadelphia, PA

Gallagher Rollin

Editor-in-Chief, Pain Medicine Journal

Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH
Philadelphia Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Philadelphia, PA

Wailes Robert

Delegate to the AMA House of Delegates

Robert E. Wailes, MD
Medical Director
Pacific Pain Medicine Consultants
Encinitas, CA

Buckenmaier Chester

Federal Medicine Liaison Director

Chester Church Buckenmaier III, MD
Defense & Veterans Center For Integrative Pain Management
Rockville, MD

Scheman Judith

Doctoral-Level (non-physician) Liaison Director

Judith Scheman, PhD
Director, Behavioral Medicine
Digestive Disease and Surgery Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Council of Past Presidents

AAPM is thankful for the dedicated leadership and for all who have served in the organization over the years, especially its Council of Past Presidents.

Become part of this distinguished, multimodal, interdisciplinary community.