Top Pain Physicians, Researchers Are Honored with AAPM 2016 Awards and Presidential Commendations

February 18, 2016, PALM SPRINGS, Calif. — The American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) is pleased to announce its Pain Medicine 2016 Awards and Presidential Commendations for exceptional service to the Academy and/or the field of Pain Medicine. Recipients will be honored on Saturday, February 20, 2016 at the AAPM’s Annual Meeting in Palm Springs, CA, where more than 1,000 scientists, physicians, and clinicians convene to share the latest advances in Pain Medicine.

The Pain Medicine 2016 Award recipients are: 
John D. Loeser, MD—Philipp M. Lippe, MD, Award 
This award is given to a physician for outstanding contributions to the social and political aspect of Pain Medicine. Social and political accomplishments could be those that benefit the science, the practice or the recognition of the specialty.
Daniel J. Clauw, MD—Founders Award
This award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to the science or practice of Pain Medicine. This award is given for continued contributions for the basic or clinical science of Pain Medicine or for demonstration of clinical excellence or innovation in the practice of Pain Medicine.
Yu “Woody” Lin, MD, PhD—Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual for commitment and contributions to the American Academy of Pain Medicine. This award is given to an individual for specific outstanding contributions. 
Penney Cowan and Carmen R. Green, MD—Patient Advocacy Award
This award recognizes activity of an individual in advocating for appropriate evaluation and treatment of patients suffering from pain. This award was created to honor those healthcare professionals whose deeds reflect their recognition of the importance and impact of the specialty of Pain Medicine.
Gagan Mahajan, MD—Presidential Excellence Award for Education
This award honors an individual who has made major contributions to the education of others about Pain Medicine. 
Andrew Moore, DSc—Robert G. Addison, MD Award
This award is given for outstanding contributions that foster international collaboration between the American Academy of Pain Medicine and individuals or organizations that support the development of the specialty on an international scope.
In addition, Presidential Commendations were given to the following individuals:
Daniel B. Carr, MD—In recognition of his representation of the Academy at the AMA Task Force to Reduce Opioid Abuse.
Jianguo Cheng, MD, PhD—In recognition of his work as Vice President for Scientific Affairs, Scientific Review and Guidelines Committee Co-chair and thoughtful input on numerous important documents presented to the Academy for review.
Edward C. Covington, MD—In recognition of his work as Chair of AAPM’s Opioid Advisory Task Force.
Eduardo M. Fraifeld, MD—In recognition of his work on behalf of the Academy and the field of pain medicine related to coding and reimbursement, and particularly for service on the CPT Advisory Committee and AMA RVS Update Committee.
Dana L. Simon, MD—In recognition of many years of service to the Academy as Chair of the CME Oversight Committee.
Mike Small—In recognition of his work on the prescription drug monitoring program in California.

Lynn R. Webster, MD—In recognition of his ongoing efforts on behalf pain patients and recent publication of “The Painful Truth” featuring stories of people living with pain. 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print
Share on email
Pain Medicine Journal
Access to this page is restricted to members only! Not a mamber? Join Now!

Ask Us Anything. Anytime.

📝 Fill in your details and we’ll get back to you in no time.

American Academy of Pain Medicine