Posts by

Monica Moore

Home / Blog Archive

Robert G. Addison, MD Award

Robert G. Addison, MD Award

The Robert G. Addison, MD Award was created to honor the memory of the late AAPM President, Bob Addison. The award is given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding efforts to foster international cooperation and collaboration on behalf of the specialty of pain medicine.

The 2020 Robert G. Addison, MD Award recipients are Chester C. Buckenmaier III, MD; Sean Mackey, MD PhD; and Winfried Meissner, MD PhD.

Past Recipients

2014: Tanja Erika Schlereth, MD PhD

2015: ChildKind International

2016: Andrew Moore, DSc

2017: Faculty of Pain Medicine ANZCA

2018: Xue-Jun Song, MD, PhD

2019: Lone Knudsen, MSc Psych PhD

See all awards

AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education

AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education

The AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education honors an individual who has made major contributions to the education of others about pain medicine.

Past Recipients

2012: Lynn R. Webster, MD

2013: Debra K. Weiner, MD

2014: Beth B. Murinson, MD PhD

2015: Michael Cousins, MD, DSc

2016: Gagan Mahajan, MD

2017: Col. Kevin Galloway, U.S. Army (ret), BSN, MHA

2018: Larry C. Driver, MD

See all awards

Patient Advocacy Award

Patient Advocacy Award

The Patient Advocacy Award recognizes the activity of an individual in advocating for appropriate evaluation and treatment of patients suffering from pain. This award was created to honor those healthcare professionals whose deeds reflect their recognition of the importance and impact of the specialty of pain medicine.

Past Recipients

2001: Warner Wood, MD

2002: Robert Biscup, MS DO

2003: None

2004: Kenneth Moritsugu, MD MPH

2005: John (Jack) C. Lewin, MD

2006: None

2007: Louis W. Sullivan, MD

2008: Robert D. Kerns, PhD

2009: None

2010: Myra Christopher

2011: Will Rowe

2012: Robert J. Saner II, JD

2013: Malene Davis, MBA MSN CHPN, and Capital Caring

2014: Edward Bilsky, PhD

2015: Samir K. Ballas, MD, FACP

2016: Penney Cowan and Carmen R. Green, MD

2017: Judith A. Paice, PhD, RN

2018: Paul Christo, MD MBA

See all awards

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual for commitment and contributions to the American Academy of Pain Medicine. This award is given to an individual for specific outstanding contributions.

Past Recipients

1996: Patricia Owen

1998: Paul Gebhard, JD; Kristie Haley

1999: Peter Wilson, MBBS PhD; Ruth Tiernan

2001: Joel R. Saper, MD FACP FAAN

2002: Elliot Krames, MD

2003: Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD PhD; Jeffrey W. Engle

2004: Albert L. Ray, MD

2005: Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH

2006: Edward C. Covington, MD

2007: Eduardo M. Fraifeld, MD

2008: David A. Fishbain, MD DFAPA

2009: Colleen M. Healy

2010: Scott M. Fishman, MD

2011: Timothy R. Deer, MD

2012: B. Todd Sitzman, MD MPH

2013: Philip A. Saigh, Jr.

2014: Charles E. Argoff, MD; Marsha Stanton, PhD RN

2015: Perry G. Fine, MD

2016: Yu “Woody” Lin, MD, PhD

2017: Sean Mackey, MD, PhD

2018: James C. Watson, MD; Jeffrey M. Tiede, MD

2019: Randall Brewer, MD; Michael Osborne, MD

See all awards

Founders Award

Founders Award

The Founders Award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to the science or practice of Pain Medicine. This award is given for continued contributions for the basic or clinical science of Pain Medicine or for demonstration of clinical excellence or innovation in the practice of Pain Medicine.

The 2020 Founders Award recipient is Ru-Rong Ji, PhD, PI.

Past Recipients

1995: Benjamin L. Crue, Jr., MD FACS

1996: Wilbert Fordyce, PhD

1997: Peter Wilson, MBBS PhD

1998: Tony Yaksh, PhD

1999: Steven Feinberg, MD

2000: Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH

2001: Gary J. Bennett, PhD

2002: Russell Portenoy, MD

2003: Donald D. Price, PhD

2004: James C. Eisenach, MD

2005: Edward C. Covington, MD

2006: Gerald F. Gebhart, PhD

2007: Richard B. North, MD


2009: Nikolai Bogduk, MD PhD DSc

2010: David E. Joranson, MSSW

2011: Daniel B. Carr, MD

2012: Howard L. Fields, MD PhD

2013: Allan Basbaum, PhD

2014: Steven P. Cohen, MD

2015: Clifford Wolff, MD, PhD

2016: Daniel J. Clauw, MD

2017: R. Norman Harden, MD

2018: Robert H. Dworkin, PhD

See all awards

1 2 19 20 21 22 23 43 44
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google
Consent to display content from Spotify
Sound Cloud
Consent to display content from Sound
Pain Medicine Journal
Access to this page is restricted to members only! Not a mamber? Join Now!

Ask Us Anything. Anytime.

📝 Fill in your details and we’ll get back to you in no time.

American Academy of Pain Medicine