Daily Archives

November 27, 2018

Home / November 27, 2018

AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education

AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education

The AAPM Presidential Excellence Award for Education honors an individual who has made major contributions to the education of others about pain medicine.

Past Recipients

2012: Lynn R. Webster, MD

2013: Debra K. Weiner, MD

2014: Beth B. Murinson, MD PhD

2015: Michael Cousins, MD, DSc

2016: Gagan Mahajan, MD

2017: Col. Kevin Galloway, U.S. Army (ret), BSN, MHA

2018: Larry C. Driver, MD

See all awards

Patient Advocacy Award

Patient Advocacy Award

The Patient Advocacy Award recognizes the activity of an individual in advocating for appropriate evaluation and treatment of patients suffering from pain. This award was created to honor those healthcare professionals whose deeds reflect their recognition of the importance and impact of the specialty of pain medicine.

Past Recipients

2001: Warner Wood, MD

2002: Robert Biscup, MS DO

2003: None

2004: Kenneth Moritsugu, MD MPH

2005: John (Jack) C. Lewin, MD

2006: None

2007: Louis W. Sullivan, MD

2008: Robert D. Kerns, PhD

2009: None

2010: Myra Christopher

2011: Will Rowe

2012: Robert J. Saner II, JD

2013: Malene Davis, MBA MSN CHPN, and Capital Caring

2014: Edward Bilsky, PhD

2015: Samir K. Ballas, MD, FACP

2016: Penney Cowan and Carmen R. Green, MD

2017: Judith A. Paice, PhD, RN

2018: Paul Christo, MD MBA

See all awards

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual for commitment and contributions to the American Academy of Pain Medicine. This award is given to an individual for specific outstanding contributions.

Past Recipients

1996: Patricia Owen

1998: Paul Gebhard, JD; Kristie Haley

1999: Peter Wilson, MBBS PhD; Ruth Tiernan

2001: Joel R. Saper, MD FACP FAAN

2002: Elliot Krames, MD

2003: Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD PhD; Jeffrey W. Engle

2004: Albert L. Ray, MD

2005: Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH

2006: Edward C. Covington, MD

2007: Eduardo M. Fraifeld, MD

2008: David A. Fishbain, MD DFAPA

2009: Colleen M. Healy

2010: Scott M. Fishman, MD

2011: Timothy R. Deer, MD

2012: B. Todd Sitzman, MD MPH

2013: Philip A. Saigh, Jr.

2014: Charles E. Argoff, MD; Marsha Stanton, PhD RN

2015: Perry G. Fine, MD

2016: Yu “Woody” Lin, MD, PhD

2017: Sean Mackey, MD, PhD

2018: James C. Watson, MD; Jeffrey M. Tiede, MD

2019: Randall Brewer, MD; Michael Osborne, MD

See all awards

Founders Award

Founders Award

The Founders Award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to the science or practice of Pain Medicine. This award is given for continued contributions for the basic or clinical science of Pain Medicine or for demonstration of clinical excellence or innovation in the practice of Pain Medicine.

The 2020 Founders Award recipient is Ru-Rong Ji, PhD, PI.

Past Recipients

1995: Benjamin L. Crue, Jr., MD FACS

1996: Wilbert Fordyce, PhD

1997: Peter Wilson, MBBS PhD

1998: Tony Yaksh, PhD

1999: Steven Feinberg, MD

2000: Rollin M. Gallagher, MD MPH

2001: Gary J. Bennett, PhD

2002: Russell Portenoy, MD

2003: Donald D. Price, PhD

2004: James C. Eisenach, MD

2005: Edward C. Covington, MD

2006: Gerald F. Gebhart, PhD

2007: Richard B. North, MD


2009: Nikolai Bogduk, MD PhD DSc

2010: David E. Joranson, MSSW

2011: Daniel B. Carr, MD

2012: Howard L. Fields, MD PhD

2013: Allan Basbaum, PhD

2014: Steven P. Cohen, MD

2015: Clifford Wolff, MD, PhD

2016: Daniel J. Clauw, MD

2017: R. Norman Harden, MD

2018: Robert H. Dworkin, PhD

See all awards

Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award

Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award

The Philipp M. Lippe, MD Award is given to a physician for outstanding contributions to the social and political aspect of pain medicine. Social and political accomplishments could be those that benefit the science, the practice or the recognition of the specialty.

The 2020 Philipp M. Lippe, MD, Award recipient is Vanila M. Singh, MD.

Past Recipients

1995: Philipp M. Lippe, MD

1996: Joel Saper, MD

1997: Richard Stieg, MD

1998: Sridhar Vasudevan, MD

1999: Hubert Rosomoff, MD

2000: J. David Haddox, DDS MD

2001: Kathleen M. Foley, MD

2002: Michael Ashburn, MD MPH

2003: Daniel B. Carr, MD

2004: Robert G. Addison, MD

2005: Kenneth A. Follett, MD PhD

2006: Samuel J. Hassenbusch, MD PhD

2007: Scott M. Fishman, MD

2008: Benjamin L. Crue, Jr., MD FACS

2009: Albert Ray, MD

2010: Michel Y. Dubois, MD

2011: Douglas Throckmorton, MD

2012: Philip A. Pizzo, MD

2013: Chester (Trip) Buckenmaier III, MD, COL MC USA

2014: James P. Rathmell, MD

2015: Lieutenant General Eric Schoomaker, MD, PhD; Major General Richard W. Thomas, MG, DHA.

2016: John D. Loeser, MD

2017: Rollin M. Gallagher, MD, MPH

2018: Robin J. Hamill-Ruth, MD

2019: Donna Bloodworth, MD

See all awards

1 2 3 4
Pain Medicine Journal
Access to this page is restricted to members only! Not a mamber? Join Now!

Ask Us Anything. Anytime.

📝 Fill in your details and we’ll get back to you in no time.

American Academy of Pain Medicine